Blackboard Sessions
Summer Zoom Weekly Drop-In for Faculty Every Thursday

This summer CELT is sponsoring a time to keep in touch with colleagues every Thursday Noon – 1:00 pm Central time/1:00 – 2:00 pm Eastern from May 28 through August 20. This time is for socializing and talking about teaching. E-mail Elizabeth.evans@cuw.edu for Zoom link.

Summer Faculty Professional Development Schedule

No registration needed for any of these sessions. Please join the Zoom link at the appropriate time. All sessions via Zoom with this link: https://cuwaa.zoom.us/j/2622432358, or Meeting ID: 2622432358.

All sessions will be posted on the campus calendars for each campus; from those postings you can download information for your Outlook calendar. NOTE: If no participants have joined 10 minutes after the session start time, the session will be closed/cancelled.

Contact Elizabeth Evans with questions at 262 243 4283 or elizabeth.evans@cuw.edu

Session Descriptions

Required Professional Development Sessions (Two)

Course Design and Pedagogy
Is a 90-minute program offered on Zoom multiple times starting the week of June 8 and continuing through July 27 (except the week of June 22).

This session focuses on hybrid course design and teaching strategies useful for fall instruction. Even if you hope to use a fully synchronous delivery, developing content in advance will be essential to meet student needs. This session’s focus is on planning and developing your course in light of the need for social distancing and best teaching practices using the Foundations – Applications – Evaluation model. This model emphasizes class time with students as time for active, applied learning, building on foundations completed by the students prior to class sessions. Also: how to build connections and community, effective live teaching, and the difference between videoconference and in-person. This session is required for full-time faculty. Offered via Zoom. With Elizabeth Evans, Susan Gallanis and Catherine (Kate) Robertson.

Blackboard for Effective Course Delivery Fall 2020 & Beyond
is a 90-minute program offered on Zoom multiple times starting the week of June 16 and continuing through August 14 (not the week of June 22).

The focus of this session is using your Blackboard course site as a tool for organizing your content and communicating with students. Topics include updated faculty expectations for Blackboard including assignment drop boxes for all students to submit assignments, using the Content area effectively, the Grade Center, a sample Blackboard course template, how to reduce the size of your course, posting your office hours, and an effective course review checklist. This session is required for full-time faculty. Offered via Zoom. With Susan Gallanis and others.

Optional Professional Development Sessions (Five)

Technical Training on Zoom

All sessions with Justin Frisque

Zoom Basics Updated
Topics include logging into your Zoom account, meeting controls, security, screen sharing, how to get help. Optional. Offered via Zoom.

Zoom Interactive Tools
Topics include polls, using the whiteboard and break-out groups. Optional. Offered via Zoom.

Recordings
Session focus is on making, storing and sharing recordings in Zoom and Panopto for the short- and long-term. Includes recording Zoom sessions and posting link in Blackboard, or pre-recording course content and where to store for future courses. Optional. Offered via Zoom.

Blackboard Training

All sessions with Susan Gallanis

Interactive Asynchronous Tools in Blackboard
Session covers setting up Discussion Boards (entire class), Group Discussion Boards and Group Assignment, and Private Journals. Optional. Offered via Zoom.

Assessments in Blackboard
Session covers setting up Blackboard Tests, setting Test Options and test security including Respondus. Optional. Offered via Zoom.

Schedule by Week:

(See the CELT Blog for session schedule organized by session name: Link to CELT Blog)

June 8 – 12, 2020

  • Zoom Basics Updated: Monday June 8, 9:00 – 9:30 Central/10:00 – 10:30 Eastern
  • Zoom Interactive Tools: Tuesday June 9, 9:00 – 9:30 Central/10:00 – 10:30 Eastern
  • Recordings: Tuesday June 9, 10:00 – 10:30 Central/11:00 – 11:30 Eastern
  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Wednesday June 10, 1:00 – 2:30 Central/2:00 – 3:30 Eastern
  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Friday June 12, 1:00 – 2:30 Central/2:00 – 3:30 Eastern

June 15 – 19, 2020

  • Blackboard for Effective Course Delivery Fall 2020 & Beyond: Monday June 15, 1:00 – 2:30 Central/2:00 – 3:30 Eastern
  • Zoom Basics Updated: Tuesday June 16, 1:30 – 2:00 Central/ 2:30 – 3:00 Eastern
  • Blackboard for Effective Course Delivery Fall 2020 & Beyond: Wednesday June 17, 11:00 – 12:30 Central/12:00 – 1:30 Eastern
  • Zoom Interactive Tools: Wednesday June 17, 1:30 – 2:00 Central/2:30 – 3:00 Eastern
  • Recordings: Wednesday June 17, 2:30 – 3:00 Central/3:30 – 4:00 Eastern
  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Thursday June 18, 9:00 – 10:30 Central/10:00 – 11:30 Eastern
  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Thursday June 18, 1:00 – 2:30 Central/2:00 – 3:30 Eastern

June 22- 26, 2020

  • Zoom Basics Updated: Monday June 22, 11:00 – 11:30 Central/12:00 – 12:30 Eastern
  • Zoom Interactive Tools: Tuesday June 23, 9:00 – 9:30 Central/10:00 – 10:30 Eastern
  • Recordings: Tuesday June 23, 10:00 – 10:30 Central/11:00 – 11:30 Eastern

June 29 – July 3, 2020

  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Monday June 29, 12:00 – 1:30 Central/1:00 – 2:30 Eastern
  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Tuesday June 30, 10:30 – 12:00 Central/11:30 – 1:00 Eastern
  • Blackboard for Effective Course Delivery Fall 2020 & Beyond: Wednesday July 1, 9:00 – 10:30 Central/10:00 – 11:30 Eastern

July 6 – 10, 2020

  • Blackboard for Effective Course Delivery Fall 2020 & Beyond: Monday July 6, 9:30 – 11:00 Central/10:30 – 12:00 Eastern
  • Zoom Basics Updated: Monday July 6, 3:00 – 3:30 Central/4:00 – 4:30 Eastern
  • Interactive Asynchronous Tools in Blackboard: Tuesday July 7, 11:00 – 12:00 Central/12:00 – 1:00 Eastern
  • Zoom Interactive Tools: Tuesday July 7, 2:00 – 2:30 Central/3:00 – 3:30 Eastern
  • Recordings: Tuesday July 7, 3:00 – 3:30 Central/4:00 – 4:30 Eastern
  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Wednesday July 8, 11:00 – 12:30 Central/12:00 – 1:30 Eastern
  • Assessments in Blackboard: Thursday July 9, 9:00 – 10:00 Central/10:00 – 11:00 Eastern
  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Thursday July 9, 1:00 – 2:30 Central/2:00 – 3:30 Eastern

July 13 – 17, 2020

  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Monday July 13 8:30 – 10:00 Central/9:30 – 11:00 Eastern
  • Blackboard for Effective Course Delivery Fall 2020 & Beyond: Tuesday July 14, 4:00 – 5:30 Central/5:00 – 6:30 Eastern
  • Interactive Asynchronous Tools in Blackboard: Wednesday July 15, 1:00 – 2:00 Central/2:00 – 3:00 Eastern
  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Thursday July 16, 3:30 – 5:00 Central/4:30 – 6:00 Eastern
  • Assessments in Blackboard: Friday July 17, 1:00 – 2:00 Central/2:00 – 3:00 Eastern

July 20 – 24, 2020

  • Assessments in Blackboard: Monday July 20, 9:00 – 10:00 Central/10:00 – 11:00 Eastern
  • Blackboard for Effective Course Delivery Fall 2020 & Beyond: Monday July 20, 1:00 – 2:30 Central/2:00 – 3:30 Eastern
  • Zoom Interactive Tools: Thursday July 23, 10:00 – 10:30 Central/11:00 – 11:30 Eastern
  • Recordings: Thursday July 23, 11:00 – 11:30 Central/12:00 – 12:30 Eastern
  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Thursday July 23, 1:00 – 2:30 Central/2:00 – 3:30 Eastern
  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Friday July 24, 10:00 – 11:30 Central/11:00 – 12:30 Eastern
  • Interactive Asynchronous Tools in Blackboard: Friday July 24, 1:00 – 2:00 Central/2:00 – 3:00 Eastern

July 27 – 31, 2020

  • Course Design and Pedagogy: Monday July 27, 11:00 – 12:30 Central/12:00 – 1:30 Eastern
  • Blackboard for Effective Course Delivery Fall 2020 & Beyond: Wednesday July 29, 11:00 – 12:30 Central/12:00 – 1:30 Eastern
  • Interactive Asynchronous Tools in Blackboard: Thursday July 30, 10:00 – 11:00 Central/11:00 – 12:00 Eastern

August 3 – 7, 2020

  • Zoom Basics Updated: Monday August 3, 3:00 – 3:30 Central/4:00 – 4:30 Eastern
  • Assessments in Blackboard: Tuesday August 4, 10:00 – 11:00 Central/11:00 – 12:00 Eastern
  • Zoom Interactive Tools: Tuesday August 4, 2:00 – 2:30 Central/3:00 – 3:30 Eastern
  • Recordings: Tuesday August 4, 3:00 – 3:30 Central/4:00 – 4:30 Eastern
  • Blackboard for Effective Course Delivery Fall 2020 & Beyond: Wednesday August 5, 3:00 – 4:30 Central/4:00 – 5:30 Eastern

August 10 – 14, 2020

  • Blackboard for Effective Course Delivery Fall 2020 & Beyond: Wednesday August 12, 10:30 – 12:00 Central/11:30 – 1:00 Eastern
  • Assessments in Blackboard: Wednesday August 12, 1:00 – 2:00 Central/2:00 – 3:00 Eastern
  • Blackboard for Effective Course Delivery Fall 2020 & Beyond: Friday August 14, 9:30 – 11:00 Central/10:30 – 12:00 Eastern
  • Interactive Asynchronous Tools in Blackboard: Thursday August 13, 4:00 – 5:00 Central/5:00 – 6:00 Eastern
  • Recordings: Tuesday August 18, 10:00 – 10:30 Central/11:00 – 11:30 Eastern

August 17 – 21, 2020

  • Zoom Basics Updated: Monday August 17, 10:00 – 10:30 Central/11:00 – 11:30 Eastern
  • Zoom Interactive Tools: Tuesday August 18, 9:00 – 9:30 Central/10:00 – 10:30 Eastern
  • Zoom Basics Updated: Wednesday August 19, 3:00 – 3:30 Central/4:00 – 4:30 Eastern
  • Zoom Interactive Tools: Thursday August 20, 2:30 – 3:00 Central/3:30 – 4:00 Eastern
  • Recordings: Thursday August 20, 3:30 – 4:00 Central/4:30 – 5:00 Eastern