The Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching

all students, all faculty, all teaching

Our Mission

To support Concordia’s mission of Christ-centered, Lutheran higher education, our Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT) strives to enhance teaching ability in all faculty with all students in all teaching methods (face-to-face, virtual, blended and fully online). We develop faculty to connect faith and learning, to develop students in the Global Learning Outcomes (GLOs), and to create active learning environments that engage all students. We support online and blended course and programs with instructional design services.

Our Work with Faculty

CELT encourages self-reflective, scholarly teaching among Concordia faculty through programs, consultations, and collaborations. CELT works with all full-time and part-time faculty teaching face-to-face, virtual, blended, or fully online courses, supports programs and departments in curriculum development and program-level assessment of student learning outcomes, and collaborates with other Concordia offices to encourage faculty in scholarship and leadership activities. An Ann Arbor faculty member coordinates CELT activities for that campus.
The CELT provides learning opportunities and support for faculty and departments in:  

  • Connecting Faith & Learning
  • Best practices in teaching in all learning methods/course deliveries
  • Nine Principles for Good Practice in Teaching and Learning
  • Instructional design services for fully online and blended courses and programs
  • Teaching the Global Learning Outcomes
  • Curriculum improvement and development, including curriculum mapping
  • Faculty Book Groups
  • Experiences and concerns of newer full-time faculty (2 – 5 years)
  • Syllabus and course design
  • Orientation, programs and resources for faculty teaching fully online, face-to-face, and virtual
  • Peer Evaluation of Teaching
  • Training and resources for Blackboard LMS including student engagement tools, like VoiceThread
  • Assessment of student learning at the program and university levels
  • The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL)
  • Formative teaching observations and consultations

Contact

Dr. Erin Laverick, Assistant Vice President of CUAA Academics
Office: Kreft 235
Phone: 734-995-7391
Emaill Address: erin.laverick@cuaa.edu

Dr. Elizabeth Evans

CELT Staff - Mequon

Dr. Elizabeth Evans, Director
Phone Number: 262 243 4283
Email Address: elizabeth.evans@cuw.edu

Susan Gallanis, Assistant Director - CELT
Phone Number: 262-243-2007
Email Address: susan.gallanis@cuw.edu

Catherine Robertson, Instructional Development Specialist
Phone Number: 262-243-2082
Email Address: catherine.robertson@cuw.edu

Diana Belscamper, Instructional Development Specialist – Online Teaching and Learning
Phone Number: 262-243-1802
Email Address: Diana.Belscamper@cuw.edu

Madelyn Kempen, Lead Instructional Designer
Phone Number: 262-243-2109
Email Address: madelyn.kempen@cuw.edu

Mary Buenz, Instructional Designer
Phone Number: 262-243-4244
Email Address: mary.buenz@cuw.edu

Tim Gieschen, Instructional Designer
Phone Number: 262-243-2077
Email Address: timothy.gieschen@cuw.edu

Katherine Mayer, Instructional Designer
Phone Number: 262-243-4231
Email Address: katherine.mayer@cuw.edu

Jacklyn Pomeranke, Instructional Designer
Phone Number: 262-243-2002
Email Address: jacklyn.pomeranke@cuw.edu

Taylor Richards, Instructional Designer
Phone Number: 262-243-2195
Email Address: taylor.richards@cuw.edu

Jan Weisenbach, Instructional Designer
Phone Number: 989-245-5510
Email Address: janice.weisenbach@cuaa.edu

Resources

Submit a Blackboard help request
Blackboard Instructor Self-Help
Visit Our Blog